Our Directors


To view EastPack's Board Charter - click here

EastPack is governed by eight elected grower directors and two independent commercial directors. Meet our Directors…

John Loughlin - Chairman

John joined EastPack as an independent director in 2014.  John has extensive experience including directorships with Zespri Group Limited, AgResearch Limited and New Zealand Meat Producers Board.  John is currently Chairman of Powerco Limited, Tru-Test Corporation Limited and Firstlight Foods NZ Limited, and is a Director of Augusta Capital Limited, Port of Napier Limited and Bay Venues Limited.  John holds an MBA and BCA from Victoria University of Wellington.

Eastpack Kiwifruit Packhouse - Director Michael Montgomery

Michael Montgomery

Michael has been involved in the kiwifruit industry as a grower and a post-harvest operator since 1981. He became an EastPack Director in 2000, after selling his post harvest operation, Zest Company. Together with business partner Grant Eynon, he operates a partnership which has orchards in the Bay of Plenty and Hawke’s Bay. Michael is a past member of NZKGI and completed the Kelloggs Rural Leadership Training Programme in 2002. Michael is Chairman of the Industry Supply Group (ISG).

Eastpack Kiwifruit Packhouse - Director Adrian Gault

Adrian Gault

Adrian has been a Director of EastPack since April 2009. He holds a Bachelor of Agricultural Science and is a Nuffield Scholar (2000). Adrian is a Director of Otara Land Co. which has 15 canopy hectares of kiwifruit, five canopy hectares of new plantings and 400ha sheep and beef. He has 23 years experience in agriculture and horticulture.

Eastpack Kiwifruit Packhouse - Director Mark Hudson

Mark Hudson

Mark has been involved in the Kiwifruit Industry since 1982 and has been a Director of EastPack Ltd since 1992.  He owns and manages two orchards in the Edgecumbe region; 14 canopy hectares of green and gold kiwifruit.  He holds a BSocSc degree in economics and accounting.  Mark has been a member of New Zealand Kiwifruit Growers Incorporated for ten years and he is the current Chairman of EastPack Kiwifruit Operations (EKO).


Mark Giles

A Senior Executive with over 25 years experience in the ICT industry, Mark joined EastPack as an Independent Director in 2014.  Mark has extensive international sales and marketing experience and served on a number of Boards including Vodafone New Zealand, Vodafone Mobile New Zealand, and Alcatel New Zealand.  Mark is currently an Independent Director at ITM Co-operative Limited, Chairman of Imarda Limited and Techspace Consulting Limited.  Mark holds a Batchelor of Agricultural Economics from Massey University.


Eastpack Kiwifruit Packhouse - Director Murray McBride

Murray McBride

Murray has been involved in the kiwifruit industry since 1979. He managed the McBride family post-harvest facility and in 1990 purchased his first orchard. Since then Murray has been heavily involved in developing new Gold orchard plantings and is renowned in the industry as a leader in this field. Murray is also a member of the Zespri Gold Development Group.

Hendrik Pieters

Hendrik has held several senior leadership roles within the New Zealand Kiwifruit Industry throughout the past 30 years.  He and his family own and operate orchards in the Te Puke region of the Bay of Plenty.

Michael Maltby

Michael has been a kiwifruit grower since 1983 and joined the Satara Board in 2008.  Michael holds a Bachelor of Commerce and is a member of the NZICA, having spent 14 years with KPMG before establishing his own IT consultancy business in 2004.